David Cronenberg's Permanent Collaborator in This Year's Jury!

With slightly more than two weeks left till the beginning of the 9th ZFF, it is time to introduce to you our esteemed jury members. As in previous years, three juries (with three members each) will be deciding on the best films of Zagreb Film Festival: for Best Feature-length and Short Film; Best Documentary; and best Film in Checkered Selection.

We are particularly looking forward to welcome the acclaimed director of photography Peter Suschitzky, permanent collaborator of director David Cronenberg, who will be deciding on the winners of the main program.

Peter Suschitzky is a great name in the world of film photography. He shot more than 50 feature-length films in his 50-year long career. He worked with many acclaimed international directors, such Ken Russell, Tim Burton, John Boorman and David Cronenberg. His best known works as director of photography include 'Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back' and films by David Cronenberg: they have made a dozen films together since the late 1980s. He received numerous awards for his work, including four Genie Awards (Canadian Academy for Film and Television) for Best Achievement in Cinematography – for four Cronenberg's films: Eastern Promises, Crash, Naked Lunch and Dead Ringers.


In the main program jury he will be accompanied by Italian film director and screenwriter Antonio Piazza and journalist and film critic Christopher Goodwin, former editor of Hollywood Reporter and contributor of The Sunday Times of London, The Guardian, Esquire... Antonio Piazza is known to the ZFF audience as co-director of the short film 'Rita', which received Golden Pram for Best Short Film at the last year's Zagreb Film Festival.


The Documentary Film Jury is composed of Chris McDonald, Executive Director of Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival, Amra Bakšić Čamo, Producer and Manager of CineLink (Sarajevo Film Festival), and British director and producer Tim Pritchard.

The jury which is to decide on the best Croatian short film in Checkers Program is composed of the last year's winner of the program, director Juraj Lerotić, producer Danijel Hočevar and Director of Tampere Film Festival, Jukka-Pekka Laakso.